Contests Part Deux

  Ok so here is a concern I have about contests and the ability to vote.

  Now maybe I’m just a bit old fashioned and think that if you’re going to have a contest based on art or fashion the only people who should vote are people who know *something* about either.   Now considering that won’t really work on Polyvore……

  The problem is when the contest you entered suddenly asks you to vote is that you have teen’s wanting to vote for their friends  or for a set that might have a actor in it that they like.   I’m not saying everyone does this….but let’s get serious for a moment.  There is no way on this planet that voting in these contests is anywhere close to fair.  

  Now don’t get me wrong.  This is not about “winning”.  This is not about being a sore loser either.   But you can’t help but feel disappointed when you discover that the contest you entered is now down to voting.  Even more so when you realize that the sets that ended up winning didnt’ even follow the rules of the contest.  Now what’s the point of trying if that’s going to continue to happen.   I’ve seen Victorian Set contests with winners that have nothing to do with Victorian.  I’ve seen contests with rules to use certain items with winners that had none of those items.   THAT is frustrating.  It makes the entire point of a contest invalid and really waters it down.

Solution?

  Well my opinion is that if you can’t handle holding a contest in your group and deciding YOURSELF,  then don’t have one.  OR  have a contest that isn’t  quite so….”deep” in nature.   Don’t have a theme that young girls will have trouble creating and then ask them to vote on it.   If you want to challenge them with a hard theme I say go for it!!  I think its great!  But make sure YOU know what that theme means and then be prepared to judge it yourself.   I’ll use the Victorian example again – if you don’t know what is Victorian then look it up.   And make sure that the winners of that very specific contest actually did something Victorian and not 1920’s or pinup.  

There are a couple of groups I’m considering leaving when I realized that it appears the contests are popularity contests by allowing their friends to win all the time….I won’t mention which ones, but its very disappointing.   There’s just no purpose.   And if you make an art based contest…..you dang well better know what to look for in when viewing art.   Because again,  putting a grunge texture over one photo doesn’t cut it.  My 5 year old cousin can do that,  it doesn’t require thought.  It might look cool?  But its not art.

  In closing I simply ask that if you have a contest with voting that you make the theme VERY easy to understand.   Colors or a certain dress would work.  Maybe voting in a contest where the theme is simply to make the best outfit.  Something where anyone in the voting public whether young or old,  experienced or not can use their opinion to pick the best set.

  Because if another contest about a zebra has a tiger winner….I’m going to pull my hair out.  ;o)

Tootles!

Published in: on September 2, 2008 at 2:21 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://polywhore.wordpress.com/2008/09/02/contests-part-deux/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I definately agree with you on the contests. My daughter and I get so frustrated when we enter contests with great sets, along with a lot of other people, that the set that win are nothing but crap. No I am not a sore loser, but I think a lot of the contest winners are friends with the people judging. There is no creativity to the sets. I am not saying we should win, but I think there are a lot better sets out there than the one that won.

    I appreciate how fair you are in judging your contests. I feel that a lot of people, myself included, put a lot of work into the sets and try to keep the theme in mind. I think we deserve a fair chance when entering the contests.

  2. Definitely agree with you. Another thing I hate is that, when voters choose the winners, sometimes only the very top sets (the ones that were entered into the contest last) are chosen. Most voters aren’t willing to scroll through hundreds of pages of entries, whereas the judges (sometimes) are more willing to do that.

    What comes to mind is this set: http://www.polyvore.com/what_to_wear_beach/contest.show?id=30349

    The winners are all have great sets, but they also all had sets in the top couple of lines of entries. When users vote, it appears that the only trick to winning is to submit a set at the very last minute.

    I also wanted to let you know that I, too, appreciate how fair you are when judging contests. It’s obvious that you really think things through, which is so nice to see.


Leave a Reply

